STBBDC 2021: Winners, Shortlist and Stats / 60 products
Showing 1 - 60 of 60 items


We would like to thank everybody for their submissions to Stereohype's 17th Annual Button Badge Design Competition.

This year we are particularly pleased that so many previous winners and participants gladly accepted our invitation to become part of the jury panel. We love this about Stereohype as it helps build a little community – and a growing one with over 600 talents from around the world...

We were also over the moon to discover that our huge jury panel helped to get one of our persevering contributors over the line. One of this year's winners tried twice before and even made it into a shortlist in a previous year. Nothing we ever consider as part of our judging process but it just gets to show that enthusiasm and perseverance are key.

This is not the first time that happens so please do feel encouraged and try again next year, if you did not win. Winners are amazing but there is also a bit of luck and randomness involved. The stats say it all – our judges' favourites were all over the place – just the way we like it. Next thing you know lots of judges vote for naked men in felt tip pen speedos. What's not to love?

777 (!) accepted entries by
216 accepted individual badge designers
96 (!) disqualified / non-eligible designs
25 judges / judging teams
60 shortlisted designs featured at
30 runners-up
30 winning designs
6 well-deserved winning sets of 4
6 well-deserved single badge winners
211 (!) received at least 1 vote
95 (!) were voted for as 1st choice winners once or more
18 were voted for as 1st choice winners twice or more
28 were voted for by 3 or more judges
85 (!) were voted for by 2 or more judges
125 (!) were voted for by 1 judge each
566 did get no vote

1st prize (single badge): DTM_INC
1st prize (set of 4): Daria Podgornaya
2nd prize (single badge): Ali Kaigh
2nd prize (set of 4): Anastasiia Konopleva
3rd prize (single badge): John Fairley
3rd prize (set of 4): Bojana Rakic
4th prize (single badge): Maxim Levkov
4th prize (set of 4): Zlata Subbotina
5th prize (single badge): Vyacheslav Vepshin
5th prize (set of 4): Stefan Alexander
Special Stereohype Prize (single badge): Darya Kramsakova
Special Stereohype Prize (set of 4): Beth Freeman


Congratulations also to all the runners-up who made the shortlist of 60! The 30 winning badges are now available to purchase. The others have not been produced by us but will stay online to give credit to everybody who scored enough points from our judges to make this shortlist.

A few words for runners-up, special mentions and participants:
Please do feel encouraged to submit new designs to our next competition (excluding those few who won with one of their designs). Runners-up – you scored a lot of points to have made it onto the shortlist and should be proud of yourself. Agnieszka Weglarska, Amelie Harrison, Carlos Vazquezmellado, chirotamtam, Craig Stuart Allan, Daria Nekrasova, Eva Pils, Fu Shiyi, Klaudia Cisek, Lijuan Zheng, Loginova Polina, Mariya Chernysheva, Mariya Sabotakhina, Masha Sharkova, Megan Postins, Nadezhda Bliudenova / Nadya, Nur Ernehir, Rachael Davies, Rezvan Ranjbar and Stefaniia Patlai.

The same applies to special mentions: Sima Yazdani, Abigail Chua, Lijuan Zheng, Daria Pchelintseva, Sam Weekes, Veronika Silanteva, Katunya Kuzmina, Klaudia Cisek, Bastien Pillet, Britt Thorpe, Andreas Panayi, Anna Gritchina, Wang Yuhan, Vasilisa Desiatnikova, Tatiana Furlan and Mariia Abramova – but also all other participants who submitted intriguing work. 211 badge designs did after all get at least 1 vote – and only 30 could win... Congratulations to all – you stood out from the masses! Please give it another try next year with fresh new designs to grab our jury's attention.

A big THANK YOU goes once again to the nice people from the judging panel who helped us so much – especially considering the large amount of entries we all had to consider in recent years!

Judging Panel 2021
Agathe Jacquillat / FL@33 and Stereohype, Aleksandra Szwajda, Anis Tabaraee, Anke Weckmann, Aranza Serafin, Bori Vajda, Camille Whitcher, Emily Gosling, Gavin Lucas, Holly T Burrows, Irina Nurenberg, Jenny Haytch, John Dowling, Jonny Leigh, Jono Sandilands, Linzie Hunter, Monika Mitkute, Nick Spence, Paul McNeill, Roger Fawcett-Tang, Savely Beloshapskiy, Steve Sadler, Team Grafikmagazin, Team Slanted and Tomi Vollauschek / FL@33 and Stereohype.

Call for entries for Stereohype's annual Button Badge Design Competitions are launched several months in advance of the deadlines. Please keep your eyes peeled and subscribe to our newsletter to make sure you are the first to hear from us. To be safe please also follow us via Twitter (@stereohype, @vollauschek), Facebook, Instagram or LinkedIn.

Showing 1 - 60 of 60 items